September’s theme – Guilty Pleasures

 

Some guilty pleasures for some of our library staff

Everyone has a guilty pleasure – something that you feel that little bit embarrassed about or guilty about doing. For some people, it is shopping for a new handbag when you know you don’t really need one (but you want one so much). For others, it is sitting down with a good book in one hand and a chocolate biscuit in the other (and the ironing is in the corner).

So, we want to know…

What is your guilty pleasure when it comes to reading?

Here are some of my guilty pleasures…

  1. Regency romances. I was introduced to romances in my teenage years – my mother used to leave Mills and Boons dotted about the house. As a voracious reader, who could never find enough books to satisfy my appetite, these would be my stop gap between one book and another. As I have grown older, I find that I like certain types of romance better than others and regency romances are now my favourite. I know that they are not the coolest or cleverest reads, but they give me pleasure. Would I read them on a train? No! (unless they were on a e-reader)
  2. Vampire fiction – I have been addicted to vampire fiction for a while now, well before it became really popular. Why do I feel guilty about it? I like the trashy romantic vampire novels the best…
  3. Nora Roberts. Why guilty, do you ask? As a librarian, sometimes you feel you should be reading literary masterpieces all the time – the winner of the Orange prize or the entire Man Booker prize long list. I read those types of books too, but occasionally, I like to curl up on my sofa with a Nora Roberts and pretend I don’t have the washing, ironing and cooking to do.

From this list, you would think that I only ever read romance, but these are my guilty pleasures, not entirely what I like to read. Over the next few months, as you will get to know me better, you will find that I like to read crime, thrillers, science fiction, fantasy, urban fantasy, dystopian fiction, literary fiction, biographies, cookery books, newspapers, magazines, websites, blogs, Facebook, Twitter…

Join in and let us know what your guilty pleasures are…

Tweet what you read using the hashtag #NPTguilty. We will be having a live twitter discussion on 25th September 2012 at 8 p.m., so join in using the hashtag.

Bethan

Bethan’s guilty pleasures

This entry was posted in Blog posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

