A guilty geek

I admit it – I am a geek. Worse of all, I am a guilty geek – I try to hide my geekiness, as frankly, I am quite embarrassed about it. I, however, have decided that just for today and for this month’s theme, to embrace my inner geek.

Confession No. 1

I love Star Wars books. There, I’ve said it. Actually, I love all things Star Wars, but especially the books. Why, you ask? Well, it is because they continue the story about what happens after the Empire is defeated, to our favourite characters, Luke, Leia, Han and Chewbacca. Did we honestly think it was going to be happy ever after? No, of course not!

Confession No. 2

I love the new young adult sci-fi and dystopia books that have become so popular lately. I have read so many lately, that they are all beginning to blur into one. My favourites (at the moment) are Across the Universe by Beth Revis and Glow by Amy Kathleen Ryan. I just feel that as a serious librarian in my 30s, I should be reading serious literary masterpieces, and not thoroughly enjoying teenage angst in space.

Confession No. 3

Like any true geek, I like gadgets. My favourite gadget of the moment is the iPad – I just love it. I love finding new apps for me and for my little one to play on, but most of all, I love that I can download e-books, from our e-book service, www.wales.libraryebooks.co.uk, on to it. I would usually download fiction e-books, but this weekend, to further cement my geekiness, I will be reading iBooks Author For Dummies by Galen Gruman.

You may think that there is no hope for me, but remember I am a Star Wars fan and I believe there will always be a New Hope.

May the force be with you.

Bethan

P.S. Don’t forget to join us on 25th September 2012 at 8 p.m. for our live Twitter discussion. Use the hashtag #NPTGuilty and confess your guilty pleasures.

This entry was posted in Blog posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A guilty geek

  1. Loved Heir to the Empire! Mara Jade rules!

    Be a proud geek!

    • Bethan says:

      I agree – Mara Jade does rule! I have just started rereading the Jedi Academy trilogy – I haven’t read them in years and I have forgotten lots of the story line, it is like finding an old friend again.

      I am proud of being a geek most of the time – it means I can immerse myself in sci-fi and fantasy, discover new worlds and watch Firefly, Farscape, Dr. Who over and over again…

Leave a Reply

