Not so scary?

Halloween is fast approaching and the shops are full of ghoulish tricks and treats. In the lead up to All Hallows Eve, I have been embracing this month’s theme, I’m not scared…, in spite of my own wussiness. I have not only been reading scary (maybe) books, but watching scary (maybe) things on TV. I have learnt a little about myself this month – things that I thought I would find scary, I wasn’t really that scared by…

  1. The Greatcoat by Helen Dunmore – I decided to read this because it is one of the new Hammer imprint books. What could be scarier than a Hammer story? Not scary for me, really. I enjoyed it and I thought it was brilliantly atmospheric in parts, but I never felt scared. There wasn’t enough danger or peril to the main character for me.
  2. The Vampire Diaries. I have tortured my poor husband for the last few weeks, by watching back to back episodes of The Vampire Diaries. I have grow jaded by the neck breaking/biting, spell flinging, hybrid killing residents of Mystic Falls. Hubbie was quite alarmed by how violent the programme is, especially as it is aimed at young adults. I was more “They are only vampires – it’s their nature.” I have clearly drawn a line between what is fantasy and what is not – I suspect if it was a crime drama set in a real-life situation, I would find all the violence extremely scary.

There have been some things that I have been reading and watching that have scared the living daylights out of me. If you want to know what, then you will have to join us for our twitter chat – Tuesday 30th October, 8 p.m. Use the hashtag, #NPTscary.

Bethan

This entry was posted in Blog posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

