Reading Habits

One of my many New Years resolutions (and the one I am least likely to break!) is to read something I wouldn’t normally read. After much umming and ahhing, I have decided to break my trend of reading fiction. Not completely I must add, but my bedtime reading will now include the occasional bit of non-fiction. That’s right; I am heading into the world of factual books.

Choosing what to read has been really hard, due to the fact that there are books on every subject you can think of! In the end I have narrowed it down to the following 3;

 Is It Just Me – Miranda Hart – Not really a fan of life stories, but a big fan of Miranda Hart. Could this be the book to kick start an interest in biographies?

 Betty Crocker Big Book of Cupcakes – Betty Crocker – in a bid to expand my cupcake skills, my colleagues will be force fed cake this month!

An Utterly Impartial History of Britain: (or 2000 Years of Upper Class Idiots in Charge) – John O’Farrell – I like history, I don’t read many books on the subject. This may be a brain killer or an absolute gem! 

Image

Three very different books, that I may or may not finish, but that’s the beauty of non-fiction – it’s easy to dip in and out of.

 Will my view of non-fiction as purely a source of information and not for relaxed reading be turned on its head? Will you be tempted to read something you’ve never tried before or are there reasons you stick to the books you do?

 Join us on the 29th January 2013 at 8pm to twitter chat about the books you love and what you’ve been reading this month using #NPTNewU

 Happy Reading

 Sharon

 

 

This entry was posted in Blog posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

