October 2013 – Back to basics…

After a break for a month, our twitter reading group is back and we are going back to basics. This month, we are going to welcome you all by just asking you – what are you reading and why? Don’t be shy – we don’t care what you read, as long as you are reading something.

One-mans-trash-is

Tell us what you love reading, tell us what you hate reading, tell us what have has surprised you, tell us what has disappointed you.

Here are some examples:

I loved reading The Color Purple by Alice Walker again. I first read this book as a teenager, after watching the wonderful film adaptation. I am a firm believer that books mean different things to people at different times of their life and I certainly believe that this is the case with this book. I don’t remember being so moved, shocked, or in the end, uplifted at 18, as I am now (I am not divulging my current age).

I have hated reading the news over the last few weeks. I am finding reading the news through which every medium – newspaper, online, through my smartphone – increasingly depressing and some cases, annoying. I would love to abstain for a couple of weeks and go about completely unaware of all the tragedies of life that are reported daily. I know, however, that my ongoing quest (some might say obsession) for information will not allow this – pass me my BBC News app quick, what have I missed?

Fluffy

I was really surprised by Fluffy by Simone Lia, a gorgeous graphic novel. I am not really a graphic novel fan. I am not knocking them, in fact, I quite like the idea (in my inner geeky way) but my brain doesn’t seem to want to understand how the story flows. I, however, loved Fluffy, a book that tells the story of a little rabbit who thinks he is a little boy, of his relationship with his daddy (a human called Michael) and life’s little anxieties. Brilliant – that is all.

Like many women out there, I was disappointed to hear that Helen Fielding had killed off Mark Darcy in the latest Bridget Jones incarnation, Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy. Mark Darcy was one of the few characters in a book that I secretly swooned for and I suspect that I will miss him. I haven’t read the book yet, so I will reserve my judgement until the final page. Maybe.

So, anything goes… let’s all get together on Twitter on Tuesday 29th October at 8 p.m. We will be using #NPTbtb to bring our tweets together.

See you there,

Bethan

This entry was posted in Blog posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

